Nuggets on the Internet

May 13, 2010

Over at LiveJournal, my cousin Andie has a blog. She writes a lot of fanfic (a lot) and occasionally she talks about her life. I came across it as it is under the same name as her very unusual email address. By the way, if you don’t know what fanfic is, it’s essentially short stories extrapolating from various TV shows. She’s written fanfic for NCIS through to Supernatural. It’s very geeky and it’s all taken very seriously. She got 151 comments on one fanfic! I don’t think I’ve had 151 hits in total all the time this web site has been up!

Anyway, I’m still in a relapse and I’m thinking a lot about The Family. So I went looking through her stuff and she makes a few references to me – I’ve found four so far. All except one was made before I left the family. The one made most recently claims she is the eldest granddaughter of a close-knit family, whereas I would just like to put on the record that I am the eldest granddaughter.

The other three were more disturbing. In one she refers to me as a poet who can only write between bouts of depression. I mean that one’s ok. The next one called me emo, except that apparently I couldn’t be emo because I wasn’t a teenager and that I was a self-indulgent whiner who victimises myself. And the third catalogues the days before my grandmother’s birthday – which I was not going to because my step-father would be there. Apparently there was a family conference about the situation. All aunts and uncles and cousins getting together to talk about me!

It’s not paranoia when they really are out to get you.

Leave a comment